Saudi Arabia


The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia is situated in western Asia, and covers almost the whole of the Arabian Peninsula.  The country is bordered by Jordan and Iraq in the north, Kuwait in the northeast, Qatar, Bahrain and the United Arab Emirates in the east, Oman in the southeast and Yemen in the south. The country has a border on the Red Sea as well as the Persian Gulf.  The capital is Riyadh.  The official language of the country is Arabic.  The official religion is Islam.  The country is often called the “Land of the two Holy Mosques” which refers to Al-Masjid al-Haram (in Mecca) and Al-Masjid an-Nabawi (in Medina).

Until 1932, the country was known as the Kingdom of Hejaz and Nejd.  Before that they were both separate countries.  Between 1865 and 1881, the Turks opened post offices in the country.  In 1916, Hejaz became independent from Turkey and the country issued its own stamps.  In 1925, the Sultan of Nejd conquered Hejaz. From 1926, stamps of the new kingdom were issued. The name of the country was changed to the Saudi Arabian Kingdom and from 1934 the first stamps marked Saudi Arabia were issued.


Various Scenes Series featuring the Cartouche of King Saud – Postage


SG # 420

Used (Hinged)




Various Scenes Series featuring the Cartouche of King Saud – Air


SG # 435

Used (Hinged)





Burning of Algiers Library in 1962 Series


SG # 631

Used (Hinged)





The Prophet’s Mosque Series (Medina)


SG # 949

Used (NH)






SG # 865

Used (Hinged)






Oil Rig Series (Al-Khafji)


SG # 1187

Used (NH)





25th Anniversary of King Abdul Aziz Research Centre Series


SG # 1909

Used (NH)





Country Index

A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M

N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z