British East Africa


British East Africa, also known as East Africa Protectorate was an area in Central Africa occupying about the same area as the present day Kenya.  It was controlled by Great Britain in the late 19th century and remained a protectorate until 1920, apart from a coastal strip only 16km wide which became the Kenya Protectorate.

From 1890 until 1895 stamps of Great Britain were used surcharged British East Africa Company.  From July 1895 stamps of the Imperial British East Africa Company were overprinted British East Africa.  Stamps of Queen Victoria were also used with this overprint, but when they ran out, stamps of Zanzibar were used with the overprint.  Stamps were only issued from 1890 until 1897.


Queen Victoria Series


SG # 66

Used (Hinged)





Country Index

A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M

N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z